Happy Thanksgiving!

Dia de gracias is not celebrated in Ecuador, surprisingly enough. I have not missed home as much as I expected to, but today I do. I miss the damp golden leaves blanketing sidewalks, the crisp November air, pumpkin pie. I miss the family time and games, the smell of the kitchen, and the tasty turkey.

They might not celebrate Thanksgiving in Ecuador, but that doesn’t keep me from being thankful.

I don’t want to downplay any of the things I am thankful for, but they are too many to list. Here are a few:

-I am thankful for the friendliness of strangers. Bonding with someone you just met is under-appreciated, yet so special.

-I am thankful for random acts of genuine kindness. It gives me hope.

-I am thankful for pillows and blankets–it gets cold at 10,000-feet, even on the equator. I do not know what I would do without my wool sheets, although I would be less likely to hit the snooze button.

-I am thankful for my adventurousness. I hope I never lose it.

-I am thankful for adorable dogs. They never fail to cheer me up!

-I am thankful for laughter and smiles.

-I am thankful for challenges. Life is boring without them.

-I am thankful for my family and friends.

-I am thankful for my good health.

Finally, I am thankful that you are reading my blog! Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

.

.

.

.

.

Leave a Reply

